Short Bio:

Mindy Thompson is a writer of fantastical stories for Middle Grade readers. She holds a BA in creative writing from Boise State University and previously had the privilege of working in public and middle school libraries. She currently resides in Southern Idaho. Find her on social media @mindythompson_.

Long Bio:

Mindy Thompson writes fantastical stories for Middle Grade readers.
A graduate of Boise State University with a B.A. in creative writing, Mindy spent ten years working in public and middle school libraries. She began writing upper Middle Grade with her past students in mind and hopes to give them a place to find themselves in the books they read.
Mindy lives with her sister-turned-roommate in Southern Idaho and spends far too much time watching historical hair and makeup tutorials online.
Visit her at mindythompson.com or on social media @mindythompson_

Book Blurb

What does all the magic in the world matter if it can't save the ones you love? For self-proclaimed bookstore lovers and fans of Pages & Co. comes an exploration of the way war can shape a family, in the tradition of Pax and Wolf Hollow.

It's 1943 Sutton, NY, and Poppy's family owns and runs, Rhyme and Reason, a magical bookshop that caters to people from all different places and time periods. Though her family's world is ravaged by World War II, their customers hail from their past and their future, infusing the shop with a delightful mix of ideas and experiences. The shop runs on a set of rules handed down from one generation of bookseller to the next, with their cardinal rule their most strict: shopkeepers must never use the magic for themselves.

But then Poppy's brother's best friend is killed in the war and her brother wants to use magic to save him. Young Poppy is caught between her love for her brother and loyalty to her family, all the while knowing that her brother's actions could have devastating consequences that reach far beyond the bookshop, feeding an insidious, growing darkness.
MindyThompsonAuthorPhoto.jpg

Book Info

Hardcover: 272 pages
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers (October 26, 2021).
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0593110374
ISBN-13: 978-0593110379